Saturday, May 5, 2018

Forestry Sub-local Election Results

Forestry Sub-local elections were held in April for our 2018-2020 Statewide officers.  In accordance with Federal and State law and SEIU 503 procedures this is the public posting of the results:

President: William Bennett
Vice President: Peter Kaiser
Secretary: Bob Millam
Treasurer: Dana Tenold
General Council Delegate: David Wells

Our new officers will take the oath of office and be installed at our next Statewide Meeting on Saturday, May 19th in Eugene. 

A hearty thank you goes to those who took an active role in the management in our local by voting and running for office.

The votes were counted and verified by the election committe consisting of Jim Neuman, Brandon Ferguson and David Wells on Wednesday, May 2, 2018 in Tillamook.

Sunday, April 15, 2018

Ballots Mailed, Must be Received by 5:00 pm April 24th

Ballots to elect the next Forestry Sub-local 629 leadership have been mailed and should have been in your mailbox for about a week now.  To be counted they need to be received by 5:00 pm April 24th.  This is another opportunity to be active within the sub-local, by either checking the boxes for the declared candidates or choosing to designate a write-in.  Again remember that the ballots must be received no later than 5:00 pm on April 24th.

Another opportunity for activity is at the next Statewide meeting on May 19th in Eugene.  One activity will the installation of new officers that you have chosen, you wouldn't want to miss that would you.

Friday, March 16, 2018

Forestry Sub-Local Hits the Road

Your Forestry Sub-local 629 leadership is hitting the road from Wednesday, March 21st to Friday, March 23rd.  From Tillamook to Central Point, Local President Dave Wells and Vice President Will Bennett will be visiting Oregon Department of Forestry offices along the I5 corridor with open ears and sharing a few messages.  It has been many years since a similar trip has been planned and with Sub-local ballots soon in the mail and possible changes on how our union is funded it seems like a good time to sit down together.  Pizza will be involved.  Hope to see you at one of the stops.

Here is the planned road trip itinerary:

Wednesday, March 21st
0600 Tillamook District
0800 Forest Grove District
1000 Schroder Seed Orchard (St. Paul)
1200 Salem - Sun Pass Room
1630 West Oregon (Philomath)

Thursday, March 22nd
1000 Western Lane (Veneta)
1200 East Lane (Springfield)
1630? Grants Pass

1200 Southwest Oregon (Central Point)

If you miss one of these stops the next Forestry Sub-local 629 meeting is May 19th in the Eugene Area.

Monday, February 19, 2018

Forestry Local Officer Nominations Now Open

Forestry Sublocal 629 Officer nominations opened Monday, February 5, 2018 and will close Friday, March 2, 2018.  President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer and General Council Delegate positions are open.  The current Sublocal President, David Wells, is not seeking re-election.

You can nominate yourself or another member in good standing and as part of the nomination process please try and get the nominee’s acceptance signature that they will accept the position if successfully elected.

Nomination forms are available through Mike Bray ( and can be returned to David Wells at or Mike Bray.  Nominations close Friday, March 2, 2018.

The nomination form is here:

Monday, January 15, 2018

Forestry Statewide Meeting, January 20, 2018

Our next Forestry Sub-local statewide meeting will be Saturday, January 20, 2018 from 0900 to 1300 at the Inn at Otter Crest (north of Newport). Lunch and lodging are provided and pre-registration is required.  A call in phone number is available and the number and access code is available through our Statewide organizer, Mike Bray or your Sub-local president Dave Wells.

The agenda includes:
New officer elections (announcement of election process and deadlines)
Office Coordinator update
Incident Management Rest
Portal to Portal pay (like structural firefighters)
Sexual harassment files
Pay equity DAS study
Sustainable fire organization
Workforce futuring
Who are (what constitutes) essential and non-essential fire personnel